Test humor

02/05/2009 at 6:09 AM Leave a comment

Today I needed to get an elaborate test. It required several blood draws and the injection of a medicine that is supposed ‘challenge’ one or more of my organs. By challenge in medicine we mean stress out. You give the body something that a normal organ will respond to by increasing its production and we measure this by taking blood every hour or half hour and seeing the rise in production.

As I tell my patients the hardest part is the waiting. True for me also. The doctor told me three to four days, the nurse that drew the blood said a week. I tell myself this is a lesson in patience and humility. It is what lay people go through all the time.

As an aside I was really tempted to scream horribly at the moment they put the needle in. Very immature I know but as my wife says-rather typical of males.

Entry filed under: humor. Tags: , , .

“” don’t believe in medicine” better lucky than good

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


