Worms–ugh! worms inside our bodies-ugh squared.

04/01/2009 at 5:42 AM 3 comments

This is not one of my favorite topics. Although I am not generally squeamish, worms have always been a challenge for me. Worms inside people, well let’s just say it is a good thing I dont practice in some Hot, Poor Country. Not being someone who likes to feel at the mercy of things, I forced myself to take up bait fishing to the point where I can readily (if not happily) bait a hook all morning long. If a parent will bring me a Pin Worm I will put it under the microscope and keep the stomach churning to myself. 

The last lecture in Medical School. Way past any exams, was for general interest. IT says alot about me and the other 10 students that we showed up at all. the topic was tropical medicine. Worms was high on the hit list. It is not that I had much interest in visiting a tropical country, but after that lecture, the chances of my even stopping at the airport of a tropical country went as low as the chances of my winning the lottery—and I don’t buy tickets.

The good news is that there are limited times I have to deal with them. Last night was one of them. A child of 10 has pinworms. Easy diagnosis, you can see the slimy bastards. Easy treatment, Vermox, one pill, once and done. I liked the fact that if it is a roundworm, the treament is vermox, a hookworm, vermox. It is a one pill works for all ( dosages differ a bit depending on the worm).

One of my early memories, and perhaps why i have such trouble with worms, is that my cousin developed pin worms when I was about 8 years old. The treatment was a Milk enema.  He  was one very unhappy kid. I can still hear his screams. Yes, that’s correct a milk enema- perhaps it is the ph or the fat contect that kills the buggers. Amazingly enough it worked. I have yet to read about that treatment anywhere in western medicine.

if someone out there has any info on this I would appreciate a link.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

One hard thing for which I was not prepared. I want my sleep back!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. RadscypeTeday  |  04/03/2009 at 8:05 PM

    Great site this aliekat55.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Cardalleri  |  04/10/2009 at 2:20 PM

    great site this aliekat55.wordpress.com excellent to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Cardalleri  |  04/16/2009 at 6:45 AM

    great site this aliekat55.wordpress.com brill to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


