back on the keyboard

11/11/2009 at 10:05 PM 2 comments

I have been experiencing a rather odd fear of blogging. As anyone who has looked will know, I have not added any thoughts in quite some time. After some reflection I realized that the ‘stats’ graph that shows how many people were looking at the blog was the culprit. I started to feel like I was being graded. Recently I read that other bloggers have felt similarly. I figured out how to disable the graph and I will endeavor to recapture the joy putting thoughts down.

Today I bought pig’s feet. You should have seen the look on my wife’s face when I asked her to buy some the next time she was at the store. She claimed they no longer made them. Since I do most of the cooking she obviously thought I was going to cook something with them. Actually, not so much. I am going to have an inservice suturing clinic. I remember when I was a second year medical student and Dr. Sallie Rixey did that for us. I was so excited! Pigs foot skin is similar in texture to human skin (yeah, snicker away ladies) and they are very cheap. So you make a cut and then you sew it up. Then you make a more complicated cut and try to sew that up. There is actually alot to ‘simple’ suturing.

That is because not all cuts are simple straight lines. They curve, are jagged, or they are star shapped, or with flaps. they can be shallow or deep or slopping. The skin can be leatherish (should be a word), paper thin, young and elastic or old and friable. It can be clean or a very dirty cut. Sometimes the right thing is not to suture.

As you can probably tell, I love suturing and I have done alot of it. It is not as much of a challenge as it used to be and I treasure the difficult ones. But there are young docs in the office that havent had as much practice as they would like so pigs feet are on the menu tomorrow.

Entry filed under: life thoughts.

We just decided to change reality Suturing continued

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catsman  |  11/12/2009 at 10:10 AM

    I’m new here myself and tend to obsess a little over said graph,but that’s ok for now I find this a fascinating place to be at the moment.I would have thought you intended to cook the pigs feet also,much like your wife.They pickle the darn things up here in my neighborhood…central WI…..Happy suturing and be sure to teach your obvious love of your craft to those youngsters.

    Reply
    • 2. aliekat55  |  11/13/2009 at 8:21 AM

      Thanks for the feedback. My daughter just started college next door in MN (St. Olaf). We are awaiting the subzero weather to start. The temperatures have been reasonable so far, they must take a severe dive sometime in the next month.
      Aliekat55

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


