Tenemos mucha fe (we have alot of faith)

11/23/2009 at 5:16 AM Leave a comment

A very sick hispanic patient came in. He is middle aged but still 10 years younger than me. He is a small man, has worked hard all of his life. Now he can hardly move around. He thought he was dying. Fortunately his problem should be easily regulated (in fact he is feeling much better already). Unfortunately he mumbles. Lots of people mumble. I dont think they are aware of it. It is not usually a problem unless they also speak spanish, in which case I struggle to understand.

So when he said, “Veni aqui porque nosotrol tenemos mucha fe’ en Usted.” ( I came here because we have a lot of faith in you.)

I hesitated. I thought, did he say what I think he said? I asked him to repeat it and that was what he said. I felt a small amount of embarrasment, but mostly I was humbled. This man works much harder  and longer every day than I do. But he has faith in me.

I have never seen myself as someone that could inspire faith. We shall see if it is misplaced.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What is it with those expiration dates. unusual items

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts