How do you know? How does it feel better?

12/26/2009 at 5:31 AM Leave a comment

I just read that the young american in Italy was convicted of murder. I have not followed the case all that well but enough to know that there is some doubt as to her culpability. I have no idea whether she did this or not and the fact that a jury found her guilty gives me absolutely no sense of confidence. I know how easy people are to fool, distract, confuse. How much people are far more worried about their own difficult lives than that of a young person whose future is in their hands.

I know how power hungry and without shame prosecutors can be (c.f. Duke lacrosse ) and how little accountability there is on their actions.

What bothered me was that I read that the victim’s relatives felt good about the verdict. How do they know justice was done? What if a second family has lost their daughter needlessly? Is their pain so deep that they need to punish someone ( anyone?) without regard to whom?  I don’t think I would feel better were I in their shoes. It would not bring my daughter back and I would keep wondering, what if the jury was wrong?

Entry filed under: life thoughts. Tags: .

Christmas story what do we fear?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


